GOOD GRAINS FOR GLUTEN-FREE DIETS

The North American diet is so focused on wheat products, we often forget that there are actually numerous other grains that can be used to make breads and pastries. So here's a comprehensive list provided by Bailey Koch, RD, whois on our advisory board.

 

Allowed grains and flours:

Rice                 Beans                          Buckwheat                              Vegetable gums

Corn                Garfava                       Arrowroot (i.e. guar gum)       Soy

Sorghum         Amaranth                    Flax                                         Potato

Quinoa             Teff                             Mesquite                                 Tapioca                      

Millet                Cassava                      Sago                                        Nuts and Seeds

Indian rice grass

 

Oats present a special case because they are often milled with wheat

o   Are gluten free.  Concern is the contamination of oats.

o   Commercial oats (i.e. Quaker, Country Choice, McCann’s) are NOT gluten free. 

o   Canadian oats are NOT always gluten free.

o   Gluten free oats are available. 

§  Cream Hill Estates- www.creamhillestates.com

§  FarmPure foods- www.onlyoats.com

§  Gluten-Free Oats- www.glutenfreeoats.com

§  Gifts of Nature- www.giftsofnature.com

o   Avoid until gluten free diet is mastered and there are no gastrointestinal symptoms.

o   Then one should limit the amount of pure, uncontaminated oats to:

§  ¼ cup per day in children

§  ½- ¾ cup per day in adults

§  The reason behind limiting pure, uncontaminated oats is the fact that there are case reports of patients with celiac disease relapsing from the consumption of pure, uncontaminated oats.  If this happens to you, discontinue the oats and contact your physician.

 

A gluten-free diet can provide all of the nutrition an individual needs.  Fruits, vegetables, corn, potatoes, rice, beans, most dairy products, nuts, seeds, eggs, and plain meats can be eaten on a gluten-free diet.

 

GLUTEN-FREE NO-NOs

 

A gluten-free diet is intended to be that: entirely gluten-free. To help you along, Bailey Koch, RD, one of our advisory board members has compiled several lists and suggestions to help you. Please also see her Good Grains Blogpost on our site as well:

Grains and flours that are not allowed:

Barley             Einkorn            Gluten             Orzo               Spelt                Bulgur

Emmer            Graham           Panko              Triticale          couscous        Farina 

Kamut             Rye                 Udon               Dinkel              Farro               Malt *

Seitan             Matzoh**         Wheat ***        Durum             Fu                    Semolina                             

*Includes extract, flavoring, syrup and vinegar

**Includes meal, farfel and flour

***Includes bran, flour, germ, gluten and starch

 

Foods/ingredients that may or may not contain gluten:

Breading, coating mixes                     Imitation bacon                                   Soup base

Broth                                                   Imitation seafood                                Stuffing/dressing        

Brown rice syrup                                 Luncheon meats                                 Soups

Candy                                                 Marinades/sauces/gravies                  Seasonings

Croutons                                             Pasta                                                   Salad dressing

Cereal products                                  Roux                                                   Communion wafers   

Soy sauce                                           Cracker meal                                      Self-basting poultry

 

Other potential gluten sources:

Medications                             Vitamin and mineral supplements

Play dough                              Toothpaste

 

*Gluten does not pass through the skin.  One should ensure proper hand washing to ensure gluten on the skin is not ingested when fingers are put in the mouth or food is eaten with unclean hands.